G4 Takes the Crown

So it’s official. G4 has officially toppled Comedy Central as my favorite television channel. In fact . . . if it weren’t for the Daily Show and the Colbert Report, G4 would be the only channel I watch. Maybe it’s just the E3 high (the E is for Endorphin!), but I feel myself getting the shakes when I’m not hearing game reviews or getting attacked by shows. Oh, G4, how do I love thee. And speaking of E3—oh, frakkin’ yeah! Am I the only person becoming euphoric by thinking about the Wii (whose name I find beautifully ironic given Yevgeny Zamyatin’s dystopian novel, We)? It’s nerd-licious! It’s geek-tacular! It transcends all compound verbs known to Man! More to the point, it’s affordable. Well, I guess Nintendo hasn’t officially come out with a price but it can’t possibly be more than the depressingly priced PS3. $600!? Hmm . . . given my Blockbuster “salary,” I should be able to afford that . . . in 2008. Then I can start saving up for the games. Granted, it’s beautiful and everything it does is awesome, but c’mon. Sony just pushed me back into Nintendo’s frugal bosom. And from where I’m standing, that doesn’t even feel like a concession. The Wii looks awesome. I was worried about that crazy controller but actually seeing it in action has put my mind at rest. Who’m I kidding? You can actually sword fight with it! It has duck-hunt-like shooter action! In short, I’m willing to give up my first born child for a crack at it. And what’s even better is that Nintendo won’t make me give him (or her) up. It’ll be interesting to see how this newest generation of consoles aligns the gaming world. Sony and Microsoft might have given Nintendo the opportunity it needed to get back into the action. ‘Cause, let’s face it—the GameCube sucks. Don’t get me wrong, it has a few titles (Eternal Darkness, the Resident Evils, Wind Waker, etc.) but, overall, it’s not much more than an after-thought compared to the Xbox and the PS2. However, with both the Xbox 360 and the PS3 putting a serious strain on the wallet, the Wii might get to a few more homes than it otherwise would have. Not to mention, the innovative controller design (which developers seem to be embracing) will redefine the term gameplay. Hell’s bells!

In other news, I finally got my new laptop a few days ago. Heh, it’s actually faster and has more memory than my old PC ever was . . . or did. This, of course, means I can be online wherever I go . . . which doesn’t bode well for my social life. But online chats count as peer interaction, right? Right . . . ? *shudder* I’m so alone.

Leave a Reply

