The Boys Are Back in Town

Well, I’m back from Chicago. The trip was fun. I got to see my extended family . . . who are crazy. But everyone’s is so what’s that really saying? There was this one thing my grandma kept saying. So, I’m a vegetarian. I don’t like meat. I think it’s unhealthy. And I feel for the animals. That’s right–I said it. I freely take the hit to my masculinity because I’m not exactly the prime example of the hunter-gatherer anyway. And besides, I have a girlfriend so who do I have to impress? But I don’t want you to be a vegetarian. I don’t care. And that’s not to say that I am not concerned for your well-being. That’s to say your choice of diet has no real bearing on me. I want you to eat whatever it is that you want to eat–as long as it doesn’t infringe on my (or anyone else’s) human rights. And if your diet infringes on someone’s human rights . . . you should probably change it.

Anyway, this was the first time I’d seen my extended family for a dinner-type gathering since becoming a vegetarian. So I ask you this: Why is it that every time someone (even my own family) sees my meatless plate and then, when I break the news, proceeds to explain (sometimes in great detail) why they could never go without meat and how wonderful they think it is? Do they think that it’ll somehow ‘convert’ me back. “Oh–right, I forgot how much you love meat. I’ll start eating it again.” It doesn’t quite work that way. So just an FYI, if you ever meet a vegetarian, they don’t want to hear about how much you want to make love to a pile of ground beef. And, no, I don’t eat fish. Darn Catholics . . .

But, seriously, my grandma’s insane. She finds out I’m a vegetarian and then (after asking if I eat fish) tells me that, “Jesus asked [me] to go fishing with him and [I] said no.” Now . . . what the hell does that mean?! I, seriously, can gather no sense out of it. And she said it, like, three times, so it’s a direct quote and she meant to say it. But . . . Jesus asked me to go fishing? Did Jesus even fish? *shakes head* Crazy grandma . . .

I also got to see my sister. We and the immediate fam (mom, dad, and the li’l sis) went to the Field Museum and saw a really cool King Tut exhibit from Egypt. That guy had lots of bling.

So, all in all, a pretty cool trip. And I got to check out my future neighborhood–which looks super cool. Lots of cool restaurants within a couple blocks (including veggie ones–oh yeah!), and all sorts of weird/cool shops. Definitely looking forward to it.

Also, my best friend, Nic, is back from studying in Tibet. He was actually at O’Hare while I was in Chicago, which is a weird coincidence. Sadly, we didn’t find out that we were so near each other in time to actually see each other (he lives in Michigan). But, fortunately, he’ll be in New Mexico starting June 6th (I think) to study Sanskrit, so I’ll get to see him there.

That’s about it for now. There’s nothing like being away for the weekend to remind me how much I hate working in retail. But I get free movies and a paycheck, so I can’t complain (too much). Blah, I just got home from work, so I think it’s time for a little shut-eye, as they say. Check you later . . . foo.

Leave a Reply

