Hoowah

Well, something awesome just happened to me. I recently joined a writer’s workshop at DePaul, and the way it works is you contact people on messageboards about stories you want them to look at. Then, when someone responds with a story they’d like you to look at you trade and comment on each other’s work. Well, I was reading this guy’s story and I suddenly understood it. Like, I was reading it and I could see clearly what he was doing, the effects he was trying to create with his words, and (and this was the best part) I saw how I could help make it better. Heh, as egotistical as that sounds, it was a wonderful feeling because I could actually help the guy with his writing (when he got the comments back he did say that they were a huge help and that he would definitely integrate them into his story . . . so this isn’t me just stroking my own ego . . . much). It marked the first time I’ve felt like a good writer. Which is encouraging. It also kick started back into working harder on my own stuff. Hopefully I’ll actually finish something substantial soon (though I’m not looking for miracles).

Leave a Reply

