Day Three

Woo, still hanging on (tenuously) to my resolve. Got up a little later today (10), but here’s my excuse: I went out with some friends last night to a bar, partly in celebration that our rhetoric final was over, partly as a way to wash away the final’s memory. It was fun. Made a new friend: Mr. Francis Connor.

I’ve been on a substantial hard-boiled fiction kick lately. I’ve been reading a lot of Dashiell Hammet and Raymond Chandler, specifically. I’m not sure who I like more. Hammet’s style (so far as I can gather) is more cerebral. There are things happening inside the detective, and the case doesn’t always end in a hail of gunfire. Chandler’s more hard-hitting, in your face. He had this to say about writer’s block: “When in doubt, have a man come through the door with a gun in his hand.” They both use awesome slang (“You dumb mug, get your mitts off the marbles before I stuff that mud-pipe down your mush–and tell your moll to hand over the mazuma.”). Friggin’ awesome.

I’ve also been watching more noir films, naturally. I still haven’t seen half of the “classics” but that may change soon because I think my friends and I are going to start a little movie club and movie-it-up every now and then. That’d be pretty cool because I don’t know jack about film.

Leave a Reply

