Adventures With Words

I’ve been reading a whole lot lately. And writing some. I just finished a . . . well, it’s either a long short story or a short novella . . . I haven’t decided which. And when I say “finished,” well, c’mon that means, what, two drafts? Pfft. finished . . .

It’s about gangsters on Mars. I’m trying to write a series of long short stories/short novellas about these characters a la hard-boiled serials of the twenties, thirties, and forties. It’s heavy on the dialogue because that’s what I’m good at, but I’m not super-good at it so it reads really fast and doesn’t really give the reader a break. But, hey, I’m working on it. You can read it if you want. Email me–is my email on here? I think it is. I’ll put it on here (under the “about me” thingy. So . . . email me if you want to read it.

I’ve also been reading Catch-22. I really like that book, and reading it makes me want to see the movie again. I think what I admire most about it is Heller’s ability to turn from the absurdly funny to the damn serious on a dime. For some reason I find that admirable.

On top of that, I’ve been reading this book on dialogue in the Write Great Fiction series of books. I figure if I get good enough at dialogue I can forsake narrative and description altogether. Mwa ha ha haaa! Silly Chris. Anyway, I’ve been pretty impressed by the Write Great Fiction series. I also read Plot & Structure, which was an excellent book. Dialogue is continuing the awesomeness. If you have an interest in fiction writing, they have the Chris Walsh stamp of approval.

Leave a Reply

