I Write Good

After a short hiatus, I have returned. I disappeared because I’m finally serious about writing a novel. Consequently, that means less writing in a blog. The good news is I started writing the third chapter of the book today. The bad news is, I should be on the ninth. But I decided that I needed a completely different narrator for the whole thing and that meant starting back at the beginning. There is more good news though, as I think it’s much better now and actually something worth writing as more than just a funny story.

I do try to be funny, which is simultaneously liberating because I don’t have to take it overly serious, driving myself crazy in the process, and infuriating because . . . well, it’s hard to write funny. It is the cross I bear.

So, yes. I’m writing a novel. I try to write as much as I can everyday, three hours at the very least. Considering that’s only an eighth of a day, you’d think it wouldn’t be so hard. But there are times when all you can do is beat your head against the keyboard to see what new words come out.

By the by, if any of you should like to read along as I’m writing, send me an email or leave me a comment or whatever and I’ll pop it on over to you. It’s a fantasy novel, so . . . there’s that. But it’s also a satire and a fantasy that resists its own conventions (so there’s that and that). I dunno, I like it. Perhaps you will too.

Don’t worry. I’m sure I’ll get distracted and start ranting about how Batman’s better than Superman any day now.

Leave a Reply

