Day One

Hey hey there, crazy world. It has been a looooooong time since I’ve been on here but I figure now’s time for a reappraisal of the ol’ Brain Dump. So here I am.

*reappraising*

Let’s see here, let’s see here. What did you miss . . .? Well:

I turned 25.
I got the flu.
I survived the school quarter (B, B- (was just glad to be done)).
Spent Thanksgiving in Texas.
Hated on Christmas a little less this year.
Maxed out my credit card (grrrrrr, Christmas!).
Got some sweet presents.
So Jon to the Briz-ion on New Year’s (rooooooooocked).
Aaaaaand loved all over my girlfriend.

Mmmmmm . . . yeah, that’s about it. Oh, and I have a job as a part-time dog walker because, as my friend Nic, the ever-poet, put it, I’m “in seventh grade.”

Whatevs. It’s bills in the pocket.

But the real news is this:

My writing group and I have taken up a solemn challenge for the month of January. We have decided that no more shall we be “one day” authors, who are perpetually “working on” their novels–no! We will write a whole goddamn novel (each) in thirty goddamn days.

Booyah.

Today was Day One, as yesterday we were . . . recovering from hang-overs and what-not. But now we’s down to bid-ness.

Basically, we got the idea from the National Novel Writing Month. They came up with a system to help just about anyone crank out 50k words in thirty days. That’s the goal: 50,000 words. The idea is that the first draft is shit anyway . . . so get it out of the way already. It’s pretty genius and a healthy way of getting ideas out of your head where they can fester and turn to brain crack.

Anywho, we’ve taken up the challenge and one of the suggestions the NaNoWriMo people tell us is to tell as many people as possible so that the stigma of public shame looms over us and (hopefully) inspires us to shit out what we can. So here I am: throwing myself upon the public altar, mocking the razor sharp knife of failure that will slowly descend upon me for the next thirty days . . . or not. We’ll see 🙂

In order to be on schedule, I’ll need to write 1,667 words a day. My word count thus far:

1,724.

Bring it on, January.

Leave a Reply

