Weekend Update (Days 9 through 17)

Holy crap! It’s been a while since I’ve updated. Well the good news is that I’ve been keeping up with the writing so here are some numbers:

Day 9: 1,359, a hard day or mmmm, not hard just the way the writing was structured made for a less than spectacular day. It was a Thursday and I have class that day, so there’s four plus hours of my evening taken up. I also finished a chapter after 1,359 words and the closure that that gave my brain made it difficult to start another chapter. However . . .

Day 10: 5,932–yeah-h-h-heeeeeeah! One whole chapter –> one day. It did take six hours so it wasn’t some virtuosoic (virtuosoic?) display of awesomeness. I just had the time. So it was about 1,000 words an hour, 15-ish words a minute. Which sounds so slow . . . *shrug*

Day 11: 2,902, another solid day. Nothing great but hell’s bells I’m happy with it.

Day 12: 2,253

Day 13: 2,123, these last few days were the last chapter of what I have dubbed “Part One” of my novel. But that made it really, really hard to write. Because I broke the rules. What is supposed to propel you through the NaNoWriMo experience is your ability to turn off your internal editor. I did not for this chapter because I built it up in my head that something meaningful had to happen in this chapter and that means I labored over it because it had to “be” something. It couldn’t just be what was going to come out of my head. Sigh . . .

Day 14: 1,839, what was this . . . Monday? I don’t know what happened. Some days are harder than others I guess.

Day 15: 1,790, and then I realized that sometimes writing is just hard. I also realized that the writing from here on out is going to be a different kind of writing from what I was doing up to now. Because before this I had a draft of something. In effect, I hadn’t been writing up to now, but rewriting. I do have an outline and I’ve worked out what all the major events are going to be. But knowing that and realizing it in words are two totally different things. I’m wrestling more with my interior editor more because this is the first realization of these passages and nothing sounds as good as it does in my brain, where it can be perfect and wonderful and everyone is clapping just for me. C’est le processus.

Day 16: 1,725, I couldn’t figure out what the hell I was trying to do in this chapter so it slowed things down as I tried to figure it out (something I’m not supposed to do). I also had class. Blah, excuses.

Day 17: 1,112, a horrible day. Just a bad day. I woke up late, I procrastinated. I finally finished the chapter that I didn’t know what I was doing with. Having thought about it since then I think I know what I want to do–something I don’t think I could have figured out till after I’d written it (which is, of course, the point).

Which brings us to today. Day 18. I haven’t done any writing yet because I had class this morning even though it is Saturday. Sooooooo . . . I suppose I better get to that. Laters.

Leave a Reply

