Spare the Rod, Spoil the Robin

I tried to post this last night, but much to my consternation I found that the internet at my apartment is down. I called RCN, the company that provides it, and it took them thirty-eight minutes to say, “Yes, we know about the problem. We’re working on it.” Awesome.

Speaking of awesome, though not sarcastically, I saw The Dark Knight yet again–this time in a regular theatre. I gotta say, I think the regular theatre was a better experience of the film. I say this for two reasons: 1) watching a movie on a screen six stories tall can have a very dizzying effect–and, in the case of one scene in particular (involving Batman, two SWAT teams, the Joker’s gang, and a sonar-like device), “dizzying” can be read quite literally; 2) the music was manageable. That is, it didn’t threaten to deafen me or drown out the dialogue when things started getting dramatic. There were a couple of lines in particular that I hadn’t been able to make out in the IMAX theatre that I heard clearly in the regular one. So, there you are; size (conversely) matters.

The movie still kicked ass, only more-so for the above reasons. And I thought I would leave you this week (or, thanks to RCN, begin this week) with a special Batman moment I think we can all enjoy:

05a845b8d076f12e476c427657350849.jpg
Spare the rod, spoil the Robin

I have no idea who gets credit for the writing, penciling, or coloring of this magical moment (I image-googled “batman robin slap”), but they are accorded my unending thanks. Robin can be so insensitive….

Leave a Reply

