NaNoWriMo in August

Hello, once again, dear Readers, and how are you this day? I’m doing alright, trying to keep busy, and it is on that subject that I write to you today. As well you know, I’m living back with my parents in Texas until the middle of September, waiting for my visa papers from China. I’m also trying to finish the first draft of my first novel, the first part of which you can find on the right sidebar under Duncan and the Heart of Aria. Much of that first part I finished while taking the National Novel Writing Month challenge in January–to write fifty thousand words in thirty-one days. I undertook this challenge along with my writing group, and Christina and I (being awesome) were the sole members to emerge triumphant.

However. I’m not near done with my novel, and so I have decided that, since I don’t have much else to do, I will take up a slightly less crazy version of the NaNoWriMo challenge once again, this time in August. I will be trying to write one thousand words per day, thirty-one thousand in total. That’s nineteen thousand less than the normal NaNoWriMo challenge, but hopefully that only means it’ll be that much easier to achieve.

Christina and I found that much of the drive to succeed in January was socially driven–we didn’t want to fail while the other succeeded and we didn’t want any of the shame associated with failure. And that made us try much harder. Thus, why I am telling all of you about this now and, by doing so, throwing myself upon the Altar of Public Opinion. Will it be an altar of shame, or will it be the first of many pedestals I’ll be sure to put myself on top of when I finish (oh that’s right: when)? We shall see come August 31st.

I have a feeling this month will be more difficult that January. In January, I had a very clear idea (and a reassuringly detailed outline) of what I wanted to write, what I wanted it to be about, and how I wanted to execute it. I have nothing like that now. I have a few very bright plot points that shine in the darkness of the unwritten, shiny beacons for me to write towards, but I’m not nearly as sure what the story will be about along the way. But … that’s half the fun … right?

It’s already August 8th, so I should have somewhere around 8,000 words. I do not. Not even close. I have 3,462. I can make all sorts of excuses, but I’m fairly sure the sudden spike in my time used to play video games has the most to do with it. But no more. Time to get my head in the game!

I haven’t done any writing today, so that seems like a good place to start. I’ll post again later tonight with my daily tally.

August don’t know what’s ’bout hit it! ‘oorah!

Leave a Reply

