Determination in Chinese

Hello, world. It’s been a while. No, I’m not dead. Just tired.

April hasn’t been too bad: ups and downs, strikes and gutters. I’m failing the NaNoWriMo challenge pretty miserably. I’m not even gonna come close. That’s what I get for trying to write without an outline, I s’pose. Blogspirit tells me I got over 1,300 visits to my blog this month … I should drop off the face of the Earth more often.

Anyway, I’ll resolve to post more … which will probably last a good four days before I get distracted by something shiny and don’t post till June. But until then, here’s the Pic o’ the Week.

Anyang Normal University held its yearly sports event days, where students get to sign up and compete in various sporting events. It was pretty fun seeing all the different events. There was a javelin throw, various foot races, long jump, high jump … all that Olympic crap. And the students seemed really jazzed about it all. Christina saw one of her students who competed and when asked how she did, she said cheerfully, “I came in last!” A few students (and one administrator) asked me if there was anything like this in America. I said politely … yes. Every week, depending on the sport and the season.

Anywho, here’s my pic:

IMG_0709.JPG

Determination in any culture still looks like it hurts
Leave a Reply

