Beijing and a Temporary Hiatus

Hey folks!

I haven’t updated in a while. Final exams were part of that … but mostly it’s been the World Cup. I know, right? As you may already know (if you frequent Christina’s blog), we’ve been pulled into the World Cup madness primarily by our Kiwi friend, Robert. He is … very enthusiastic about it. So enthusiastic, he makes us enthusiastic.

So we’ve been watching the games with him. They come on in the evening here, which is when I normally update the ol’ Brain Dump. Thus, no updates for like a week. Not even a Pic o’ the Week … shameful.

I’m in Beijing right now, hanging out in the big city with my friend, Nic. He’s here as second-in-command to a Brown University organized trip to Tibet. They’ve been in China for two or three weeks, and now, at the end, they’re spending a few days in Beijing before leaving, so I popped up to spend some time with him. The professor in charge is a really nice guy and very pro-active, which means Nic has very little to do and lots of free time, which works out for us. Yesterday we went to Pizza Hut and DQ afterwards, munching on Oreo blizzards while watching South Korea gets its ass gift-wrapped and mailed to it, with love, from Argentina.

Nic’s at the Great Wall (or probably on his way back) now. I could have gone with him, but they left for the Wall at 7am and I’ve seen the Wall twice already and didn’t want to get up that early….

But back to the main point of this post. I return to Anyang on the 20th and, from then on, it only gets crazier for Christina and me. We’ll have four days to pack what’s coming back to America and secure all our affairs for leaving. I don’t think I’ll have time to update the blog very much, so I’m announcing a short hiatus. I’ll come back online when I’m settled back down in America. Probably … two, two-and-a-half weeks from now. I see myself with a Pic o’ the Week by at least the tenth, if not a update sometime earlier that week.

So that’s all for now. Ummm … this is Chris Walsh, signing out.

Leave a Reply

